Currently viewingCancel
Hey, it looks like you're new! Why not discover the benefits of Sheffield Progress.

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code SS19
Qualification Type National Award (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide an introduction to the sector. It is for students who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to one A-level.


The mandatory content of the qualification incorporates topics relevant across the health and social care sector: • Human Lifespan Development: students cover physical, intellectual, emotional and social development across the human lifespan, and the factors affecting development and the effects of ageing. • Working in Health and Social Care: students explore what it is like to work in the health and social care sector, including the roles and responsibilities of workers and organisations. • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs: students focus on the principles and practicalities that underpin meeting individuals’ care and support needs, which are the foundation of all the care disciplines. Students can select one optional unit that covers: • Sociological Perspectives: students study the application of sociological approaches to health and social care, and explore social inequalities, demographic change, and patterns and trends in social groups. • Psychological Perspectives: students explore key theoretical perspectives that have been put forward on psychological and physical development and how they are applied in different health and social care settings. • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs: students explore the role of health and social care services in providing care and support to individuals with additional needs. • Physiological Disorders and their Care: students explore types of physiological disorders, the procedures for diagnosis, and the development of a treatment plan and provision of support for service users.

How will it be delivered?

4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external. Mandatory content (83%). External assessment (58%).

Entry requirements

Grade 4 or above in GCSE English. If studied BTEC Health and Social Care at Level 2 a pass or above would be accepted.


Home Courses Help & Guidance Upcoming Events
Sign In
Favourites Get in touch