Currently viewingCancel
Hey, it looks like you're new! Why not discover the benefits of Sheffield Progress.

BTEC National Diploma Health and Social Care (2 A Level Equivalent)

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code M32
Qualification Type National Diploma (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3


BTEC Level 3 Health and Social Care- National Diploma


On the BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care course you will cover 8 units. Out of these units, 8 are mandatory units and two optional. 

1. Human Lifespan Development (Mandatory) 

2. Working in Health and Social Care (Mandatory) 

3. Enquiries into current research in Health and Social Care (Mandatory) 

4. Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Mandatory) 

5. Principles of safe practice in Health and Social Care (Mandatory) 

6. Promoting public health (Mandatory) 

7. Physiological disorders and their care (optional) 

8. Psychological Perspectives (optional) 


Will the course suit me? 

The ideal student would take an interest in Health and Social Care as a whole subject. They will want to learn about how Health and Social care sectors work and have an interest in professions leading on from this course. 


Personal Study Time 

BTEC Level 3 students are expected to devote as much time outside the classroom to their studies as in lessons.  They will be given significant amounts of homework on a regular weekly basis. The nature of this work will depend on the topic being studied but will always be given in order to reinforce the work covered in class and will often form the basis of assignment work. 

How will it be delivered?

The qualification consists of three exam units, one synoptic unit and four assignment units. Assignment work is graded through developing a portfolio of evidence which hits specific criteria for each unit. The final grade will be established through a means of calculating a credit score, accumulated through the 8 units.

Entry requirements

Minimum Requirements: At least five 4 grades at GCSE and grade 5 in English (Language or Literature) 


Recommended Level of Attainment Health and Social Care Level 3: A Merit or above grade at BTEC Health and Social Care Level 2. A grade 5 and above in English is essential.  

Your next steps...


Home Courses Help & Guidance Upcoming Events
Sign In
Favourites Get in touch