Counselling Skills Level 3 Part-time (FHSC)

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code BC369
Qualification Type Other Regulated/Accredited Qualification
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Part Time


This qualification is ideal for those seeking to enhance their functional role through the use of counselling skills. Learners will gain an understanding of a range of counselling skills and have the opportunity to examine some of the various schools of thought/theoretical models associated with them. The course is suitable for professionals employed in education, welfare or social services wishing to develop a counselling role. It may also be appropriate for those working in a voluntary capacity with self-help groups or other agencies.

A commitment to equal opportunities is an essential component of this course.

This qualification does not qualify learners to practise as a counsellor.


To be awarded the Level 3 Diploma in Counselling Skills, learners are required to successfully complete 5 mandatory units:

•Unit 01 Developing counselling skills

•Unit 02 Theoretical approaches in the use of counselling skills

•Unit 03 Working ethically with counselling skills

•Unit 04 Counselling skills and diversity

•Unit 05 Counselling skills and personal development

How will it be delivered?

  • Continuous assessment through assignments/reflective journals and a portfolio of evidence
  • Candidates must submit a completed portfolio of evidence by the end of the course for final assessment. External verifier may request photocopying part of your portfolio but your confidentiality will be maintained at all times.
  • Minimum 90% attendance, which will be monitored throughout the course

Entry requirements

•Candidates will need to be aged 19 or above

•Possession of a Level 2 qualification in Counselling Skills/Helping Skills (proof of this will be expected at enrolment)

•GCSE Grade C or above in English Language (or the equivalent)

Your next steps...

Learners who achieve this qualification could progress to Level 4 counselling qualifications.