Health and Social Care

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code CA24
Qualification Type National Extended Diploma (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


2-year course

1080 GLH Equivalent in size to three A Levels.

8 are Mandatory and 4 are external units

Mandatory content (72%). External assessment (42%). This qualification has been designed to be the only qualification in a two-year, full-time study programme; it is an in-depth study of the health and social care sector.


Mandatory Units:

 Human Lifespan Development (Exam)

 Working in Health and Social Care (Exam)

 Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Social Care (Exam)

 Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care (Exam)

(Assignment set, coursework assessed, below)

 Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

 Work Experience in Health and Social Care

 Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care

 Promoting Public Health

Additional units:

(Assignment set, coursework assessed, below)

 Physiological Disorders and their Care

 Caring for Individuals with Dementia

 Understanding Mental Wellbeing

 Complementary Therapies in Health and Social Care

 Health Psychology

How will it be delivered?

The course is made up of 13 units, four of which are external exams, two in year 12 and two year 13. You will also complete course work for which you will receive a grade of either Distinction, Merit or Pass level in each assignment. These grades convert into UCAS points for entry into University. The BTEC Health and Social Care (Health Studies) is well regarded for entry into university.

  This is a full-time course at 15 hours per week run over two years. You will be allocated independent study time and will attend placement for a minimum of 100 hours.  

At the end of the two years, depending on your commitment, you could walk away with Distinction/Distinction/Distinction which is equivalent to ‘A’ Level ‘AAA’

Your next steps...

This qualification is the main focus of a two-year study programme of learning and is equivalent to three A Levels, meaning that learners will be fully prepared for a range of health and social care degree programmes.

  The Health and Social Care (Health studies) qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses, for example: 

• BSc (Hons) in Nursing

• BA (Hons) in Social Work

• BSc (Hons) in Physiotherapy

• BSc (Hons) in Occupational Therapy

• BSc (Hons) in Speech Therapy

• BA (Hons) in Health and Social Care.

The health studies pathway in the qualification is more scientific in nature, and learners will work on a wider range of health science units. This will support learners applying for degree programmes that expect larger amounts of prior science knowledge.  

One of the units, ‘Working in Health and Social Care’ will explore the sector as a whole and give you a good understanding of what it might be like to work in it.  

You will gain an understanding of a range of career options within the sector.  

Some examples include;  

Social worker

Paramedical science

Nursing and Midwifery

Occupational Therapy

Play Therapist

Residential Care Worker

Youth, care or support work

Art Therapist


SEN Teaching

Mental Health Nursing