Sixth Form - Information Technology A Level (FSFC)

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code BC207
Qualification Type GCE A/AS Level or Equivalent
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


Almost 90% of new jobs require digital skills to some degree. The relentless pace of emerging digital technologies has already transformed the way we communicate and work. As a result of emerging technologies, there is a growing demand for high level digital skills in areas such as cyber-security, cloud and mobile computing and data analytics. The Cambridge Extended Technical Certificate in IT allows students to learn and be assessed in ways that are practical and relevant to the IT sector. This course is not just about being able to use computers. Employers need people who are able to help them develop their systems for their customers and use IT as a tool to analyse data and develop applications.


Year 1

In the first year you will study the following two mandatory units:

  • Fundamentals of IT
  • Global Information.

These units provide an insight into the IT sector, as they investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, and the flow of information on a global scale, as well as the important legal and security considerations.

Year 2

In the second year you will explore application design and develop a prototype to meet a user requirement. You will then take two optional units. The optional units could include: cyber security, product development, mobile technology, social media and digital marketing, games design and prototyping, internet of everything or web design and prototyping.

How will it be delivered?

Assessment is by 67% examination and 33% coursework.

Entry requirements

We generally ask for a GCSE point score of 5 or above to study a two-year A Level programme.

This will ideally include a 5 or above in English and Maths.

Your average GCSE score will include the Grades for all your GCSE subjects, added together, then divided by the number of subjects you’ve taken.

Please note: If you have a GCSE point score between 4 and 5 you can access certain A Level subjects.



Your next steps...

This qualification will give learners a range of specialist knowledge and transferable skills in the field context of applied IT, providing them with the opportunity to progress to a related HE course, enter an apprenticeship or move directly into employment.

Students may go on and study relevant IT Higher Education Programmes such as: Computing and IT, Computing Science, Software Development, Software Engineering, ICT and Computer Networks, Business Information Systems or Digital Media. 

Past students have progressed into a variety of career paths, from system developers, web designers, IT support, to teachers and digital marketers. An IT qualification will prove valuable regardless of your chosen career path.